The Department of History was established in 1976 with UG programme. From 2019-2020 the medium of instruction for B.A.History is in Tamil and they are offered with preference in Tamilnadu Government Job-opportunities under PSTM scheme. M.A. History in the self-supporting stream and B.A. History in the self-supporting stream was started during the years 2013 and 2016 respectively. The department has 10 faculty members out of which 3 faculty members are in the aided stream and remaining faculty members are in the self-supporting stream.


Department of History Medium Affiliation
B.A. History Tamil 1976-77
M.A. History (SF) English 2013-14
Ph.D. English 2018-19


Sr. Faculty Name Designation
1. Dr. A. Devaraj Assistant Professor & Head (Aided)
2. Mr. S. Subramaniyan Assistant Professor
3. Dr. S. Mari Muthu Assistant Professor
4. Dr. K. Ragu Jegadeeswari Assistant Professor
5. Dr. K. Karuppiah Assistant Professor & Head (SF)
6. Dr. M. H. Ahamed Bilal Mahaboob Assistant Professor
7. Mr. P. Sudalai Muthu Assistant Professor
8. Dr. A. Felcitta Assistant Professor