Physical Education


The Department of Physical Education was established in the year 1966. Proper attitudes should be developed in our youth, to have a better future for our country. If the body is strong and healthy, the mind will also be happy. Physical health is essential for happiness. The Department of Phyasical Education, is promoting a happy and healthy mind among the students through Sports.

Thiru. Aruldass was the first Director of Physical Education of our College. Thiru. Gurusamy served as the Director of Physical Education upto 1970. After that, Thiru. A. Thuraiswamy was appointed as the Director of Physical Education. He served from 7.7.1971 to 10.10.1994. From 11.10.1994 to till date Thiru. T. Balasingh is served as the Director of Physical Education.


Our college was established in 1966 with Pre-University course only. The Department of physical education also started functioning in the same year. The achievements of our college begin with th then Madurai Kamaraj University 'C' zone volley ball championship. From 1975 onwards we started dominating in the University Inter-Collegiate championship. From 1975 to till date we have won the university volley ball championship 17 times and runner - up 6 times. We won the University Basketball championship 8 times and runner-up 5 times. We have won the university chess championship 6 times and runner-up 3 times. We won the university cricket championship in the year 2003. We emerged runner-up in the university kabaddi championship once. We have been the runner-up in the university badminton (Shuttle) championship once. Our college athletes won the first place in various events in the university athletic championship several times. Miss. Ezhylarasi played for India in the asian games held at bankog in the year 1999. Our college volleyball team regularly participates in open tournaments for colleges conducted not only in our state but in other states too. Some of our achievements are listed below;

  • Winner in All india inter-collegiate volleyball championship organized by L.N.C.P.E. Gwalior in 1984.
  • Winner in All india inter-collegiate beach volleyball championship organized by all india beach volleyball federation, Chennai twice.
  • Winner Bertram memorial volleyball tournament for colleges in southern states organized by loyola college, chennai in 1984 and runner-up in 1985.
  • winner state level inter collegiate volleyball dawn to dusk tournament organised by state volleyball association at chennai three times and runner-up three times.
  • Our college volleyball team also won the state level inter-collegiate volleyball tournaments organized by P.s.G Arts college, Coimbatore, Americal college, Madurai, Sri puspam college, poondi, Thanjavore, Thiagarajar college of arts and science, Madurai etc.,
  • Our college Basketball team won the second place in the state level inter-collegiate basket ball tournament organized by loyola college once.
  • Our college cricket team won the first place in the state level inter-collegiate cricket tournament organized by subbulakshmi lakshmipathy college of science, Madurai.

Tournaments Organized

We organized state level inter-collegiate basketball tournaments for men's and women's colleges separately for a week under floodlight sponsored by Arasan Textiles Mills (P) Ltd., Mountain Spinning Mills (P) Ltd., The Tuticorin spinning mills Ltd., and Tiger Finance and Leasing company Ltd., for 12 years. We also provided gallery arrangements for spectators at free of cost. About 5000 people witnessed the matches every day.

Leading colleges like loyola college, chennai, M.C.C, Chennai, P.S.G Arts college, P.S.G college of technology, Coimbatore, St. Joseph's college Trichy, Annamalai university, Annamalai nagar, Gandhigram rural university, gandhigram, Madura college, Madurai, Thiagarajar college, Madurai, American college, Madurai, V.H.N.S.N college, Virudhunagar, St. Xavier's college, palayamkottai, Scott christian college, nagercoil, V.O.C. college thoothukudi in the men section and stella mary's college, chennai, Ethiraj college, chennai, Sri saradha college, salem, Nirmala college coimbatore, P.S.G.R. Krishnammal college, coimbatore, Seetha Lakshmi college, Trichy, SaraTucker College, Palayamkottai, Holy Cross College, Nagercoil, W.C.C, Nagercoil, St. Mary's college, Thoothukudi in the women section participated in the basketball tournament. We have also organized university level inter-collegiate tournaments in basket ball and chess on several occasions.

Coaching Camps Conducted

To find out the latent talents in boys and girls, we organized Talent Hunt coaching camp for boys and girls under 12 years in the district level for 9 years with the help of qualified coaches. The coaching camps were also sponsored by Arasan Textiles (P) Ltd., Mountain Spinning Mills (P) Ltd., The Tuticorin Spinning Mills Ltd., Tiger Finance & Leasing company Ltd., and Tamilnad Mercantile Bank Ltd.,

Faculty List

S.No Faculty Name Designation Qualification
1. Mr. T. Balasingh Director of Physical Edn (SG) B.Sc., M.PEd., M.Phil.,(SG)