The Department of Tamil came into existence from the inception of the college in 1966. The Department offers part I Tamil to all the under graduate students. The Department has 14 faculty members out of which 5 faculty members are in the aided stream and remaining faculty members are in the self-supporting stream. The faculty members have guided for 26 Ph.Ds. and 200 M.Phil. Degrees. In the year 2015, B.A. Tamil Literature was started under the self-financed stream.

Courses Offered

Aided Self - Financed
--- B.A Tamil

Faculty List :   Aided

S.No Faculty Name Designation
1. Dr. A. Kanthasamy Associate professor & Head
2. Dr. C. Kasthuri Associate Professor
3. Dr. M. Sivapackiam Associate Professor
4. Dr. M. Murali Assistant Professor
5. Dr. M.L. Rajeswari Assistant Professor
6. Ms. G. Udhaya Kumari Assistant Professor

Faculty List :   Self - Financed

S.No Faculty Name Designation
1. Dr. S. Siva Kumar Assistant Professor & Head
2. Dr. M. Vanmathi Assistant Professor
3. Ms. A. Thilagavathy Assistant Professor
4. Ms. M. Josphine Immaculate Matharasi Assistant Professor
5. Dr. R. Muthulakshmi Assistant Professor
6. Mr. J. Vijayaragavan Assistant Professor
7. Ms. P. Santhana Kumari Assistant Professor
8. Ms. K. Prema Rani Assistant Professor
9. Dr. M. Selvi Assistant Professor