The Department of Zoology was established in the year 1973 by the initiation work done by our former Principal Prof. S. Selvaraj. So far this Department was headed by Dr. M. Sakthivel (1973 - 2002) and Dr. P. Densingh (2003-2012) and now it is functioning under the lead ship of Dr.R.Sornaraj. The Department has only 4 faculty members with rich experience, expatriation and qualified with Doctoral Degree. Two Supporting Staff members are deputed in this department. The Department offers B.Sc., M.Sc., (Self-Financing) and PhD Programmers.

The Department is attached with will equip UG and PG laboratory and a separate research laboratory to achieve the goals in research. We have a very good rapport with neighboring institutions such as CMFRI, SDMRI, Fisheries College, State Fisheries, Aqua farms and other arts and science colleges in the city. Since its inception, the Department has produced 15 PhD Scholars and 21 M.Phil holders. Both the faculty and the scholars have published more than 50 articles in reputed Indian and International Journals. Two Former Principals of our College hailed from our Department. Both the retired staff members operated/operating major Research projects funded by the agencies with UGC, ICAR, CSIR, DOD, DSJ and CMLRE.

In order to enrich the knowledge of the faculty, the faculty members are allowed to attend the National and International seminars, symposiums and conferences. Our staff members and research scholars are presented conducted by several agencies.

Every year around 25-30 students of under graduates and 8-10 PG students and 2-3 PhD Scholars completed their courses and left the college. The Alumni of this department are well placed in their respective fields and also occupied several destinations in various organizations and establishments. Some of the students of our department became the entrepreneurs and they occupied a popular positions in the society. Some of the notable personalities hailed from our department and served in the department itself are 1. Dr. P. Densingh Formaer Head of our department, 2. Dr. J. Mohanraj Former Principal of our college, 3. Dr. R. Sornaraj Present head of our department, 4. Dr. D. Nagarajan Faculty member of our department. Several students hailed from our department are served as the Doctors, lawyers, Judges, Police officials and Business magnets of the Town and in various parts of Tamilnadu and major Indian cities.

Courses Offered

Aided Self - Financed
B.Sc. Zoology M.Sc. Zoology

Faculty List :   Aided

S.No Faculty Name Designation Details
1. Dr. D. Nagarajan Pricipal & Head Click Here
2. Dr. K. Bhanumathi Assistant Professor Click Here
3. Dr. J. Nagarajan Assistant Professor Click Here
4. Dr. R. Nagarajan Assistant Professor Click Here
5. Ms. T. Gowri Assistant Professor Click Here

Faculty List :   Self - Financed

S.No Faculty Name Designation Details
1. Ms. J. Selvarani Head & Assistant Professor Click Here
2. Mr. A. Bharath Assistant Professor Click Here
3. Dr. R. Ramakotti Assistant Professor Click Here