Self Financed



The department of microbiology was established in the year of 1999 with UG Programme. Postgraduate programme was introduced in the year 2003. Right from its inception, the department is very zealous in providing quality education. The well equipped laboratory and library have made the teaching- learning process more effective.

The mission of the Microbiology department is to carry out high quality research on the biology, transmission, immunology and pathogenesis of viruses, bacteria and parasites that cause disease. Students are taught with audio visual aids in the field of modern Biology.

The Department of Microbiology in Kamaraj College is home to a community of dedicated teachers and teacher-scientists, providing an environment conducive for any student. The student community at the department is friendly, enthusiastic and from diverse socio-economic backgrounds. Several student activities are arranged through the year to inculcate the extracurricular abilities of the student and they are also encouraged to participate in various intercollegiate and State level Educational and Co-curricular competitions.

The department has produced good results in the examinations and our students have bagged University ranks. The crown of the achievement is the scintillating performance of 8 students receiving University ranks in April 2002 Examinations. The recent research activities of students include, Probiotics, Vermicompost microorganisms, Estuarine bacteria and Halophilic bacteria. The department has undertaken research projects. The staff members has presented a number of papers in the state, National and International seminars and published them in the reputed journals.

Courses Offered

Aided Self - Financed
--- B.Sc. Micro Biology
M.Sc. Micro Biology

Faculty List :   Self - Financed

S.No Faculty Name Designation Details
1. Dr. A. Doss Head & Assistant Professor Click Here
2. Ms. S. Abirami Assistant Professor Click Here
3. Dr. S. Subbulakshmi Assistant Professor Click Here
4. Ms. A. Selva Raja Pushpa Assistant Professor Click Here
5. Dr. M. Sangeetha Assistant Professor Click Here
6. Ms. A. Sakila Pabanasam Assistant Professor Click Here
7. Ms. P. Revathi Assistant Professor Click Here
8. Mr. R. Rajesh Assistant Professor Click Here
9. Ms. M.T.D. Najeetha Rani Assistant Professor Click Here